Home Awards Publications & Reports Educational Seminars
Affiliates & Links Essay Contest Contact Us AJA Member

AJA Officers & Board Members


American Judges
Foundation Members





Judicial Independence Resolutions

"Bar Association Response To Unjust Criticism Of Judges: New Jersey Bar Association Project


WHEREAS, the New Jersey State Bar Association has adopted an official procedure for responding to unjust criticism of judges, their decisions and the judiciary in general: and

WHEREAS, the independence of the judiciary is the cornerstone of our justice system, which is the firmest pillar of good government; and

WHEREAS, unfair attacks on judges, or the judiciary in general, which seek to influence judges’ decisions and undermine public confidence in the administration of justice, may shake the system and democracy itself; and

WHEREAS, ethical rules of judicial conduct prevent judges themselves from speaking up; and

WHEREAS, the procedure adopted by the New Jersey State Bar Association has determined that it is up to the organized bar to respond and promote the ability of the courts to dispense justice fairly and meet the threat to judicial independence;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, by the American Judges Association through its Board of Governors, that this Association hereby commends the New Jersey State Bar Association, its officers and members for their courage and exemplary action to protect our democratic system of justice; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that a copy of this Resolution be sent to New Jersey State Bar Association President, Cynthia M. Jacob, as an expression of our praise and gratitude; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that a copy of this Resolution also be sent to all the Presidents of the state, provincial and territorial bar associations, as an encouragement to them to act similarly in defending judicial independence and the integrity and credibility of our system of justice.

Adopted April 1997

Judge Jeffrey Rosinek, President
AJA Resolutions Committee
Gregory Barlow
Paul Beighle
Seymore Brown
Ann Pugh
Ira J. Raab, Chair